New executive for Hockey Association of Zimbabwe

THE Hockey Association of Zimbabwe have set September 24 as the date for their general meeting that is expected to usher in a new executive to run the association for the next two years. As the current executive’s term of office comes to an end this month all posts will be up for grabs at the Indaba at Chispite Senior School.

Humphrey Chigwedere is the incumbent president while the other members are secretary-general Sarah Bennett, treasurer Gavin Stephens, committee members; Tongai Mukwewa, Prince Mwale, William Birkett and Nicola Watson. Chigwedere, who was elected the association’s vice-president in 2014, took over when Mark Manolios resigned.

“This year’s agm is an elective one and all members have been informed in terms of the current HAZ constitution. “We are supposed to be eight but we did not replace the vice-president last year. But this year we will have a full executive. All posts are up for grabs. Nominations are supposed to have started coming in and I think they should be in 14 days before the annual general meeting,” said Chigwedere.

The association has also scheduled the HAZ Cup for the same weekend as well as the awards ceremony. The tournament is slated for September 24 to 25 at Arundel. The men and women’s event, which targets clubs from all provinces will see the winning teams in each section earning the ticket to represent Zimbabwe at the Club Championships early next year. “It’s a club tournament, that’s what we use to choose our representatives for the Club Championships.

It’s a premier club tournament, we take the top teams from each province. “We have four provinces that are more active; Midlands, Masvingo, Harare and Bulawayo. But those that are still developing and are playing hockey they can send their teams. So we might have two extra slots this year because Mashonaland Central and Mashonaland West are likely to send teams,” said Chigwedere.

The outgoing president said they will be honouring the team of the year, senior player of the year, most promising player, junior player of the year, administrator of the year and journalist of the year. “There is also the president’s award whereby the sitting president will just award someone or people based on what he thought they would have contributed,” said Chigwedere.

Hippo Valley are the men’s defending champions for the annual HAZ Cup and BAC are the reigning champions in the women’s section.

Source: Ellina Mhlanga : Sports Reporter (The Herald) – September 3, 2016