Africa Poised to Collect Some Major International Hockey Federation (FIH) Awards

The development of hockey on the African continent has evolved gradually and is in position to receive a boost during the 45th FIH Congress to be held in Dubai, UAE during the period November 9-12, 2016.

The announcement of the shortlist for all of the Hockey Revolution Awards to be presented during the prestigious event dubbed the “No Limits Ball”, three African Countries, Ghana, Malawi and Sierra Leone, will vie  with five others for the Pablo Negre Award.

The Pablo Negre Trophy is presented to a National Association that has made a significant mark either through innovative programmes and initiatives or by embracing the spirit of hockey through exceptional sportsmanship.

Africa will also be well represented when it comes to three individual awards. The illustrious awards which recognises and celebrates outstanding commitment and contribution to hockey by an individual are the Order of Merit, the Diploma of Merit and Honorary Member.

Other awards to be given out on the night include Guust Lathouwers Memorial Trophy for umpiring, the Theo Ykema Award in recognition of development, the Etienne Glichitch Award for innovation and professionalism, the Super Fair Play Trophy Rene G Frank for exemplary sportsmanship and the HRH Sultan Azlan Shah Award which acknowledges actions and achievements of individuals within both hockey and their professional careers.

The AfHF wishes all nominees the very best and the Editorial Team will follow the events closely and report on the outcomes.