SPAR South Africa Indoor Hockey Women Clinch African Championship for the first time in 10 Years

In a thrilling rematch of the previous Indoor African Cup Final, the SPAR South African Indoor Hockey Women emerged victorious over Namibia at the MTC Dome in Swakopmund, reclaiming their title as African Champions. Despite both teams having already secured spots at the FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup, the game was fiercely contested, driven by national pride.

The game’s first significant moment saw Laylaa Davids’ attempt saved by Namibia’s Petro Stoffberg. However, Davids quickly made her mark by assisting Tegan Fourie, who scored her 71st international goal in her 71st start, putting South Africa ahead.

SPAR South Africa extended their lead with a stunning goal from Jess Lardant, who fired a penalty corner into the top corner, making it 2-0 by the first break. Namibia fought back, earning a penalty corner that was cleared off the line, but an unforced error allowed South Africa to counterattack. Brisset fed Davids, who made no mistake, increasing the lead to 3-0 by halftime.

Namibia’s Jivanka Kruger set up Jerrica Bartlett to pull one back, igniting the home crowd. Both teams’ goalkeepers made critical saves, maintaining the 3-1 scoreline into the final quarter.

Namibia launched a comeback with Kiana Cormack scoring twice, once from a turnover and then from a penalty corner, leveling the game at 3-3 and setting the crowd alight. South Africa’s Sarah Paget made crucial saves to keep the score tied, sending the game to a shootout.

In the shootout, the teams remained deadlocked after three rounds. Finally, Tegan Fourie, the 2023 SA Indoor Hockey Player of the Year, delivered the decisive goal, securing South Africa’s first continental crown in a decade.

Individual Awards – Indoor Africa Cup 2024
Goalkeeper of the tournament – Sarah Paget (SPAR South Africa)
Player of the tournament – Kiana Cormack (Namibia)
Top Goal scorer – Azaylee Philander (Namibia)

Final Standings – Indoor Africa Cup 2024
1 – SPAR South Africa
2 – Namibia
3 – Zimbabwe