FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers: who plays whom in the group stage?

7th November 2023

Lausanne, Switzerland: Following yesterday’s announcement about the teams allocated to their respective venues, please find hereafter the composition of the Pools (A and B) for each FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifier:


Valencia, Spain

Pool A: Belgium, Korea, Ireland, Ukraine

Pool B: Great Britain, Spain, Canada, Malaysia

Ranchi, India

Pool A: Germany, Japan, Chile, Czech Republic

Pool B: India, New Zealand, United States, Italy


Valencia, Spain

Pool A: Belgium, Ireland, Japan, Ukraine

Pool B: Spain, Korea, Austria, Egypt

Muscat, Oman 

Pool A: Great Britain, Malaysia, Pakistan, China

Pool B: Germany, New Zealand, Canada, Chile

The top-3 men’s and women’s teams from each venue will qualify for the Olympics based on their classification at the FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers 2024.

After the round robin matches in the pool stage, the top two teams in each pool will qualify for the semi-finals. The winning semi-finalists will be assured of a top-2 finish and qualify for the Olympic Games, while the losing semi-finalists will play the bronze medal match with the winner of that match also securing their ticket to Paris 2024.

The FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers 2024 will be played between 13-21 January 2024. Please visit Olympics.Hockey for more details about the qualifiers, as well as hockey at the Olympic Games Paris 2024.


For more information about FIH and hockey in general, please consult, follow the FIH social media channels – FacebookInstagram and Twitter – and download the Watch.Hockey app.